Precious Metals: WHORES – Gold

Whores have been one of my top bands since I discovered “Ruiner” several years ago and their 2013 release, “Clean”, was my album of the year. Since then I’ve been waiting by the mailbox for more pummelling vitriol from this Atlanta-based band.

“Gold” was released in late October of this year and after my first listen, I was left feeling surprised and a little bit miffed. Their sound had changed! My fickle heart was broken, my emotions left pooling on the carpet like fresh vomit from the dog…

But then I got over myself and spun the album twice more.

For me, “Gold”, is a substantial departure from the sound they had perfected in “Clean”. Their previous output always sounded precise and deliberate. It was crushing, yeah, but everything had its place and never felt rushed for time. You were still getting your skull pounded in but with careful consideration to where the hammer was going to fall.

Ripping open this new release, the pace is upped, the consideration gone and your grey matter spewed on the wall with nary a thought to the cleaning crew. It’s a push into faster territories of punk than they had previously occupied and a switch from measured violence to reckless disregard.

Once I had mentally registered this change of pace, “Gold” quickly became a frequently played album in the weeks that followed. It’s a fucking ripper. Deep hooks, faster grooves, filthy pools of distortion and howling grey-haired angst.

I can’t find a Bandcamp stream (Boo!) but you can check out this stream on Noisey along with an excellent interview with the band’s frontman. Also check out the video for “I See You Are Also Wearing a Black T Shirt” below.

“Tiny little man, tiny little town, tiny little footsteps and a hole in the ground.” Deep cuts.

Leave a Reply

