The Classics: I Heard it Through the Grapevine

It’s taken me a while to mention a track by Creedence Clearwater Revival, a surprising fact considering they are undoubtedly my number one classic rock band. Since the first CCR track I heard, nothing has ever resonated to the same degree that they do. Their music is my fallback, I’m always in the mood for some Creedence, regardless of the situation. Even though I could go on and on trying to debate my favorite song, I’ll just cut to the chase and mention the one that always gets the most plays from me, “I Heard it Through the Grapevine”.

“I Heard it Through the Grapevine” is one track that has a long and varied history. Originally recorded by Smokey Robinson & The Miracles in 1966, it was then passed through the hands of numerous Motown artists, finally becoming popularized by Marvin Gaye in 1967. It wouldn’t be until 1970, and the release of “Cosmo’s Factory”, that CCR would release their own 11 minute jam.

I can understand a persons confusion in my choice of a cover as my favorite CCR track, when it could have just as easily been any of their other original releases. There is something about this track though, something that has always set it above the others when it came time to pick something to listen to. After all, it’s hardly a cover when the majority of the track is one sweet, sweet jam.

Kicking in at 3:00 and riding out until the 11:05 run time, “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” is one of my tops jams of all time. If I was going to make a desert island playlist, which I wouldn’t, this would be in the top three, hands down. The way everything winds together, slowly twisting and turning, meandering with purpose. Everything is mixed perfectly, the guitar, the bass, the drums, I just couldn’t ask for more.

The track is below, so give it a listen and see what you think. You might think I’m crazy but at the end of the day I always have and always will love this song.

 

Leave a Reply

